063 Adroll

Download Link: https://mostlyerlang.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/063_adroll-done.mp3

Sponsored by Adroll

Sorry to have been missing last week!  This week we have an interview with Adroll, and a brief tangent into astronomy.
Panel
Jesse Lauro (@jesse_lauro)
Brian Troutwine (@bltroutwine)
Miriam Pena (@miriampena)
Jose Manuel Rodriguez Blanco
Conferences
Elixir Conf EU April 23-24, Krakow http://www.elixirconf.eu/
PolyConf Krakow July 2-4 http://polyconf.com/
Erlang User Conference in Stockholm June 11-12 www.erlang-factory.com/euc2015
Code Mesh, London, November 2-4 http://lanyrd.com/2015/codemeshio/

Interview with Alexis Costanza

We are back from Erlang Factory San Francisco!  Every Thursday for the next several weeks, Mostly Erlang will be posting short interviews that Zach conducted at the conference.

Here, Zach Kessin interviews Alexis Costanza, production coordinator at Hackers/Founders.

Apologies for the poor quality–there were lots of people at this conference, creating lots of background noise!

061 Idris

Guest speaker Edwin Brady talks about Idris in an extremely advanced podcast full of PhDs!

Panel

Edwin Brady
Heinz Gies @heinz_gies
Kevin Hammond @khstandrews
Simon Thompson @thompson_si
Zach Kessin @zkessin

Conferences

Elixir Conf EU April 23-24, Krakow http://www.elixirconf.eu/
PolyConf Krakow July 2-4 http://polyconf.com/
Erlang User Conference in Stockholm June 11-12 www.erlang-factory.com/euc2015
Code Mesh, London, November 2-4 http://lanyrd.com/2015/codemeshio/

060 Metaprogramming Elixir

Guest speaker Chris McCord discusses his book with Zach and Bruce

Panel

Chris McCord @chris_mccord
Bruce Tate @redrapids
Zachary Kessin @zkessin

Conferences

Erlang Factory San Francisco 26-27 March–some of our regulars are there now! http://www.erlang-factory.com/sfbay2015/
Elixir Conf EU 23-24 April in Krakow http://www.elixirconf.eu/
Stockholm Erlang User Conference 9-10 June in Stockholm http://www.erlang-factory.com/euc2015

Links

Metaprogramming Elixir by Chris McCord

Seven More Languages in Seven Weeks by Bruce Tate

059 Design for Scale

Sorry everyone for the lack of podcast last week!  We are back on schedule now!

Panel

Bryan Hunter @bryan_hunter
Simon Thompson @thompson_si
Zachary Kessin @zkessin

Picks

http://www.release-project.eu
http://dcs.gla.ac.uk/~natalia/chechina-sd-erlang-efl14.pdf
https://www.erlang-solutions.com/resources/webinars/megaload-age-load-testing

http://tomatoi.st/

New Book on QuickCheck

Hi Everyone

I just wanted to let everyone who may be following the blog know that I have published a new book on using QuickCheck with Erlang. If you have heard about QuickCheck, or PropEr or property based testing in general, and didn’t know where to get started then this is the book for you. It starts with very basic “Hello World” type tests, and then moves up to generating data, testing stateful systems, Property Based Test Patterns and will even include bonus chapters on how to generate HTML and how to do TDD with quickcheck