060 Metaprogramming Elixir

Guest speaker Chris McCord discusses his book with Zach and Bruce

Panel

Chris McCord @chris_mccord
Bruce Tate @redrapids
Zachary Kessin @zkessin

Conferences

Erlang Factory San Francisco 26-27 March–some of our regulars are there now! http://www.erlang-factory.com/sfbay2015/
Elixir Conf EU 23-24 April in Krakow http://www.elixirconf.eu/
Stockholm Erlang User Conference 9-10 June in Stockholm http://www.erlang-factory.com/euc2015

Links

Metaprogramming Elixir by Chris McCord

Seven More Languages in Seven Weeks by Bruce Tate

059 Design for Scale

Sorry everyone for the lack of podcast last week!  We are back on schedule now!

Panel

Bryan Hunter @bryan_hunter
Simon Thompson @thompson_si
Zachary Kessin @zkessin

Picks

http://www.release-project.eu
http://dcs.gla.ac.uk/~natalia/chechina-sd-erlang-efl14.pdf
https://www.erlang-solutions.com/resources/webinars/megaload-age-load-testing

http://tomatoi.st/

New Book on QuickCheck

Hi Everyone

I just wanted to let everyone who may be following the blog know that I have published a new book on using QuickCheck with Erlang. If you have heard about QuickCheck, or PropEr or property based testing in general, and didn’t know where to get started then this is the book for you. It starts with very basic “Hello World” type tests, and then moves up to generating data, testing stateful systems, Property Based Test Patterns and will even include bonus chapters on how to generate HTML and how to do TDD with quickcheck

058 F#

Zach asks Rachel and Andrea about F#.

Panel

Andrea Magnorsky @silverspoon
Rachel Reese @rachelreese
Zach Kessin @zkessin

Links

http://www.roundcrisis.com/2015/02/22/Type-providers
http://www.oreilly.com/webcasts/index.html
http://www.cis.upenn.edu/~bcpierce/tapl/
http://fsharp.github.io/FSharp.Data/
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh156509.aspx

EDIT: Sorry, everyone!  I edited and then accidentally uploaded the unedited version.  It’s fixed now.

056 FIFO

Today’s podcast features guest speaker Heinz Gies, creator of project FIFO

Panel

Heinz Gies @heinz_gies

Bryan Hunter @bryan_hunter

Kevin Hammond @khstandrews

Zach Kessin @zkessin

Conferences

Lambda Days in Krakow, Poland: February 26-27

Elixir Comp Europe in Krakow Poland: April 23-24

Erlang Factory San Francisco in San Francisco, March 26-27

Erlang User Conference in Stockholm, Sweden, June 11-12

Picks

https://github.com/dominictarr/crdt
http://christophermeiklejohn.com/crdt/2014/07/22/readings-in-crdts.html
http://www.e-reading.link/chapter.php/143358/218/Tanenbaum_-_Distributed_operating_systems.html
http://www.scotlandthemovie.com/movies/mpdoune.html
https://github.com/project-fifo/snarl
https://dalmatiner.io

http://www.makemeup-israel.com/images/suri/index.html#&gid=1&pid=1